Misc.

Empty Love Tanks

So I started my week in a pretty blah way. I have been trying to manage my time a little bit better and be a bit more productive but somehow things keep piling up. I feel as if I never have enough time/energy to do everything I want or should be doing..

Anyways, I got into an accident yesterday. It wasn’t my fault, the lady purposely slammed her car against mine, proceeded to get out of the car and cuss me out but then when the cops showed up I got the ticket because she was about 80 years old and a pretty good liar/actress.

When this incident was happening, I was sort of in shock and disbelief that there could be someone this angry, vile and dishonest. As she was playing the victim card and changing her personality from angry witch to innocent old lady, I was sort of in a state of denial about the whole thing.

…I tried thinking why someone would want to screw over someone else they don’t even know without any remorse and I just really couldn’t understand it.

Then as the day went on my friends, acquaintances, and even people I barely even know reached out and tried to make me feel better about the whole thing. It made me think: “Evelyn you cannot let a couple of scummy people damper your perspective because there is also so much good and love in the world”

This then reinforced the following idea I read in The 5 Love Languages a while ago:

“Inside every child is an ’emotional tank’ waiting to be filled with love. When a child really feels loved, he will develop normally but when the love tank is empty, the child will misbehave. Much of the misbehavior of children is motivated by the cravings of an empty ‘love tank.'” – Ross Campbell

Maybe it would be a good reminder, whenever we encounter someone that seems rotten and mean to think of them as children with “empty love tanks”.
They are immature and cannot give love because they have no love in their lives… It doesn’t excuse their behavior, but it at least offers us a different perspective and maybe even a little bit of understanding.
It also helps us appreciate the good people we have in our lives a bit more…

Our time on Earth is limited, so wasting time trying to understand and deal with people’s nasty behavior seems to me like a waste of time.

Today I want to give thanks to the Universe for providing enough fuel for my “love tank”, allowing me to be grateful for the good things and not jaded by my shortcomings.

I leave you all with this:

efinds2

 

And for everyone’s sake, pleaaaaseee try to keep you love tank full!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Empty Love Tanks

Leave a Reply

